The EqualVoice Mindset

A guide for more diversity in the media.

The book “EqualVoice Mindset” by Stefan Mair and Annabella Bassler presents the most important experiences from 4 years of EqualVoice. The book shares best practice examples from 12 departments and 12 newsroom roles. The aim is to make diverse voices visible in media reporting and support editorial teams in dealing with the gender visibility gap in the right way.

Experts from the academic world and the European media industry are interviewed in depth and provide an insight into research findings and practical experience in dealing with diversity in journalism.

The book is rounded off with a practical, removable short guide for editorial teams on how to deal with the gender visibility gap.

“The EqualVoice Mindset” is published by Beobachter Edition. Order now at: Beobachter Edition

Best of Video EqualVoice Book Launch

About the author

Dr Annabella Bassler has been CFO of Ringier AG since 2012 and has held various positions in finance since 2007. She drove the Group’s digital transformation alongside her responsibility for Ringier’s activities in Romania and initiated the EqualVoice initiative to promote gender equality in media reporting. She completed her business studies at the European Business School.

 

Stefan Mair is a journalist and podcast host. He completed his training at the Axel Springer Academy in Berlin and studied journalism in Vienna and Istanbul. He worked as a freelance correspondent for the Italian broadcaster RAI. Mair has worked for several years as head of department for the Handelszeitung in Zurich, where he has been weekly editor since 2022. He is the presenter of the start-up podcast “Upbeat”. As a member of the Ringier Global Media Unit, he supports newsrooms in several countries with the implementation of EqualVoice in everyday editorial work.

Insights

Book launch 5 December 2023

Das EqualVoice Mindset

Ein Guide für mehr Diversität in den Medien.

Das Buch „EqualVoice Mindset“ von Stefan Mair und Annabella Bassler präsentiert die wichtigsten Erfahrungen aus 4 Jahren EqualVoice. Im Buch werden Best-Practice-Beispiele aus 12 Ressorts und 12 Newsroom-Rollen geteilt. Das Ziel: Vielfältige Stimmen in der Medienberichterstattung sichtbar machen und Redaktionen dabei unterstützen mit dem Gender Visbility Gap richtig umzugehen. 

Expertinnen und Experten aus der akademischen Welt und der Medienindustrie Europas kommen in vertiefenden Interviews zu Wort und geben einen Einblick in Forschungsergebnisse und Praxiserfahrungen im Umgang mit Diversität im Journalismus. 

Ein praktischer, herausnehmbarer Kurzguide für Redaktionen im Umgang mit dem Gender Visibility Gap rundet das Buch ab.

«Das EqualVoice Mindset» wird von der Beobachter Edition herausgegeben. Jetzt bestellen unter: Beobachter Edition

Best of Video EqualVoice Book Launch

Zur Autorin und zum Autor

Dr. Annabella Bassler ist seit 2012 CFO der Ringier AG und hat seit 2007 verschiedene Stationen im Finanzbereich durchlaufen. Sie trieb die digitale Transformation der Gruppe voran neben ihrer Verantwortung für die Aktivitäten von Ringier in Rumänien und initiierte die EqualVoice-Initiative zur Förderung der Gleichwertigkeit von Frauen und Männern in der Medienberichterstattung. Sie absolvierte ihr Wirtschaftsstudium an der European Business School.

 

Stefan Mair ist Journalist und Podcast-Host. Er absolvierte seine Ausbildung an der Axel-Springer-Akademie in Berlin und studierte Publizistik in Wien und Istanbul. Für den italienischen Rundfunk RAI berichtete er als freier Korrespondent. Mair arbeitet seit mehreren Jahren als Ressortleiter für die Handelszeitung in Zürich, seit 2022 als Wochenleiter. Er ist Moderator des Start-up-Podcasts «Upbeat». Als Mitglied der Ringier Global Media Unit unterstützt er Newsrooms in mehreren Ländern bei der Implementierung von EqualVoice im redaktionellen Alltag.

Insights

Buchvernissage 5. Dezember 2023