The EqualVoice Mindset

A guide for more diversity in the media.

The book “EqualVoice Mindset” by Stefan Mair and Annabella Bassler presents the most important experiences from 4 years of EqualVoice. The book shares best practice examples from 12 departments and 12 newsroom roles. The aim is to make diverse voices visible in media reporting and support editorial teams in dealing with the gender visibility gap in the right way.

Experts from the academic world and the European media industry are interviewed in depth and provide an insight into research findings and practical experience in dealing with diversity in journalism.

The book is rounded off with a practical, removable short guide for editorial teams on how to deal with the gender visibility gap.

“The EqualVoice Mindset” is published by Beobachter Edition. Order now at: Beobachter Edition

Best of Video EqualVoice Book Launch

About the author

Dr Annabella Bassler has been CFO of Ringier AG since 2012 and has held various positions in finance since 2007. She drove the Group’s digital transformation alongside her responsibility for Ringier’s activities in Romania and initiated the EqualVoice initiative to promote gender equality in media reporting. She completed her business studies at the European Business School.

 

Stefan Mair is a journalist and podcast host. He completed his training at the Axel Springer Academy in Berlin and studied journalism in Vienna and Istanbul. He worked as a freelance correspondent for the Italian broadcaster RAI. Mair has worked for several years as head of department for the Handelszeitung in Zurich, where he has been weekly editor since 2022. He is the presenter of the start-up podcast “Upbeat”. As a member of the Ringier Global Media Unit, he supports newsrooms in several countries with the implementation of EqualVoice in everyday editorial work.

Insights

Book launch 5 December 2023

EqualVoice Mindset

Un guide pour plus de diversité dans les médias.

Le livre « EqualVoice Mindset » de Stefan Mair et Annabella Bassler présente les expériences les plus importantes de quatre années d’EqualVoice. Le livre partage des exemples de bonnes pratiques issus de 12 rubriques et de 12 rôles dans les salles de rédaction. L’objectif : rendre visible la diversité des voix dans les reportages médiatiques et aider les rédactions à gérer correctement le gender visbility gap.

Des experts du monde universitaire et de l’industrie des médias en Europe s’expriment dans des interviews approfondies et donnent un aperçu des résultats de la recherche et des expériences pratiques en matière de gestion de la diversité dans le journalisme.

Un petit guide pratique détachable pour les rédactions sur la manière de gérer le gender visibility gap complète l’ouvrage.

« Das EqualVoice Mindset » est publié par Beobachter Edition. A commander dès maintenant sous : Beobachter Edition

Best of Video EqualVoice Book Launch

A propos de l’auteur

Dr. Annabella Bassler est directrice financière de Ringier AG depuis 2012 et a occupé différents postes dans le domaine financier depuis 2007. Elle a fait avancer la transformation numérique du groupe parallèlement à sa responsabilité pour les activités de Ringier en Roumanie et a lancé l’initiative EqualVoice pour promouvoir l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes dans la couverture médiatique. Elle a obtenu son diplôme d’économie à l’European Business School.

 

Stefan Mair est journaliste et hébergeur de podcasts. Il a suivi une formation à l’académie Axel Springer de Berlin et a étudié le journalisme à Vienne et à Istanbul. Il a travaillé comme correspondant indépendant pour la radio italienne RAI. Mair travaille depuis plusieurs années comme chef de rubrique pour la Handelszeitung à Zurich, et depuis 2022 comme directeur hebdomadaire. Il est l’animateur du podcast de démarrage « Upbeat ». En tant que membre de la Global Media Unit de Ringier, il soutient les newsrooms de plusieurs pays dans l’implémentation d’EqualVoice dans le quotidien rédactionnel.

Insights

Vernissage du livre 5 décembre 2023